Call for Ake Blomström entries – deadline is 16 January 2010





Dear Colleagues,


Each year 3 young and promising feature makers have the possibility to get money from the Ake Blomstrom Memorial Prize to attend the International Features Conference. The prize money will cover the travel, the stay and living expenses during the Conference. On the IFC, the young feature makers will meet experienced feature makers from all over the world, and listen to and discuss a broad range of inspiring radio documentary programs, in addition to workshops and seminars on radio documentary making.
The IFC next year will be held by YLE in Finland 9-13 May 2010.


Who can get an Ake Blomstrom Award?


Any young and unrecognised feature maker aged 35 years and under on the closing date for application in any given year
They may be freelance producers or employees of broadcasting corporations and institutions involved in and/or attending the International Features Conference. The working language on the IFC is English.


Entry Requirements


All submissions should be made by individuals, i.e. group entries are not acceptable.


The following should be sent to each member of the selection committee listed below:


A short CV including date of birth, education and radio career to date
A letter of support from the relevant broadcasting corporation or institution
a CD copy of a complete programme not exceeding 30’00 duration
a CD copy of a coherent programme extract of 13’00 to 18’00 duration
It is not possible to send the programme on other formats than CD.
A short summary of the programme in English, to be sent on paper.
A complete English translation of the programme or programme extract submitted, to be sent on paper. Even if the programme is in English, a complete transcript is needed.


The closing date for the entry of submissions for the 2010 Ake Blomstrom Memorial Prize is January 16. 2010. In order for a submission to be considered, each member of the selection committee should have received the materials listed above by the closing date. NB: It is not possible to send the program and script on e-mail.


The prize was established in the late 1980s in honour of Ake Blomstrom (31/12/31 – 31/5/85), for many years Head of Documentaries in Swedish Radio and deeply committed to the work of his young colleagues. Today, the Ake Blomstrom Memorial Prize is a joint venture between SR (Sweden), DR (Denmark), YLE (Finland), NRK (Norway), RBB (Germany), ORF (Austria), BRT (Belguim), HRT (Croatia) and RTÉ (Ireland) who together sustain the prize by means of an annual donation into a bank account held under the aegis of the EBU.


Selection Committee 2010


Berit Hedemann,
0340 Oslo


Liam O’Brien,
Via Youghal,
Co. Waterford.


Wim Vangrootloon
Radio 1
1043 Brussels.


Dorte Palle
Ung dok og tema – DRbyen
Emil Holms kanal 20
0999 København C


Ljubo Pauzin
Hrvatski radio
Dramski program
Prisavlje 3
10000 Zagreb


The selection Committee will reach its decisions by 23 February 2010, then all entrants will be notified of the result. If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact me by e-mail or telephone.


Yours sincerely,
Berit Hedemann
Chairperson, Ake Blomstrom Memorial Prize
0047 – 23 04 88 21, or 0047 – 41 55 60 87


Join the discussion

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s